SquatBook.Com


Q&A with Taylor Field: Part 1
August 15, 2006, 8:48 am
Filed under: Squat News

Q. Can you tell us a little about yourself and your background?

Taylor FieldTaylor: I was born and grew up in Enid, Oklahoma. I have a BA from Wake Forest University, an M.Div. from Princeton Theological Seminary, and a Ph.D. from Golden Gate Baptist Theological Seminary. I have been the pastor of an inner-city church and community ministry for almost twenty years. I love the Lower East Side in New York City where I work. My wife, Susan, works with university students here and I have two sons in college. I love being with people who don’t quite fit into your normal expectations.

Q. How did you become interested in writing?

Taylor: I began writing down the stories of the people around me in our mission during aGraffiti Book very difficult time in our work. Those stories became the basis of A Church Called Graffiti.

Q. What compelled you to write Squat?

Taylor: I have visited many people who live in abandoned buildings in an area not that far from Wall Street. I wanted to tell a truthful story about them in a redeeming way.

Q. What is the main theme or point that you want readers to understand from reading Squat?

Taylor: I wanted to share that though people may be precious little in the world’s eyes, we are very precious in God’s eyes. The book shares a host of biblical themes and stories in contemporary way—significance, salvation, and fairness.

Q. Are there some specific lessons you hope readers will learn and apply to their lives after reading Squat?

Taylor: I hope that after reading the novel, people may value those around them more deeply because of the deeper value already given by God.

Read Q&A with Taylor Field: Part 2

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Nice excerpt! I can’t wait to see the complete book. Twenty years ago Taylor graciously gave me early lessons about valuing and respecting the individuals most people chose not to respect. Consistently he has lived it out with those folks around Tompkins Square Park. I look forward to hearing this story from a man who is fully literate, reflective AND aggressively effective.

Comment by Bill Choate

I first met Taylor and his wife, Susan, 26 years ago in Hong Kong. Many may know that at that time Hong Kong had a number of beggars and street people. It was almost impossible to go anywhere in that crowded and fast-paced city without passing a beggar. Yet most people just quickly passed them by, often without even looking at them. But not Taylor. I can still see Taylor stopping every time he passed a person begging…how he would stop, look into their eyes, drop some money into their can, and gently and caringly pronounce a blessing on them. At first I didn’t understand why Taylor always did that. Surely he didn’t think the money he gave away could really help them, did he? Or was he trying to make the rest of us look bad and uncaring? I came to learn that Taylor did what he did for one reason alone. God had put a supernatural love in his heart for people whom the world had rejected and cast off. He was simply trying to demonstrate that God was real and still loved and cared for all people, no matter how desperate their situation. Today, 26 years later, I still think of Taylor every time I pass a person begging. And to be frank, I don’t think, “What would Jesus Do?” Instead, the question that comes to mind is “What would Taylor Do?”

Taylor Field leads by example. We’d all do well to follow. And when he writes, we’d all do well to take to heart and begin to practice the truths he is revealing.

I hope everyone will get a copy of Squat and allow God to change us through reading it and to help us to truly value and love people as He does.

Comment by Ho Ho

[…] Taylor Field: Part 1 No Comments so far Leave a comment RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI Leave a comment Line and paragraph breaks automatic, e-mail address never displayed, HTMLallowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> […]

Pingback by SquatBook.Com




Leave a Reply

